Woah there, it looks like your browser is out of date.

To get the best experience, please update your browser.

by Turbo Tax
  • 2560 Reviews
  • 61 Q&A
Ask a Question
Anne F.
Anne F.
Kenmore, WA

41 reviews

Do you pay for TurboTax or do you use the free edition?
Holly S.
Holly S.
Feb. 16, 2013, 9:57 a.m.
The free edition is fine if you make less than $50,000 a year and have nothing that might complicate your taxes. Otherwise, I would recommend the deluxe. Also, if you are military use the Freedom edition. This gives you the benefits of a paid edition with no charge. :) It's Turbo Tax's thank you to the Armed Forces.
Cancel
Tammy H.
Tammy H.
Feb. 14, 2013, 3:29 p.m.
I file federal free and use my states site for state return
Cancel
Krista R.
Krista R.
Feb. 13, 2013, 6:32 p.m.
I used the deluxe this year and its worth it. They take you through every application to see if you qualify. If you have a business-tax credit, if you have gone green in your home-tax credit, if you bought a bought -tax credit it shows you every place possible that I had no idea about so I will continue with the deluxe.
Cancel
Gina Z.
Gina Z.
Feb. 13, 2013, 8:42 a.m.
I used to use the free one but now we just upgrade to the deluxe.
Cancel
Karrie S.
Karrie S.
Feb. 11, 2013, 12:48 a.m.
I have used both. The free edition is good when you don't have a lot of deductions or own property. If you don't have complicated taxes, you should use the free edition. THe free edition is very thorough, and since I've paid for the upgrade and didn't find it very useful, I have gone back to using the free version.
Cancel
Influenster M.
Influenster M.
Feb. 10, 2013, 7:23 p.m.
I was able to use the free edition! Thats always an added bonus!
Cancel
Jasmyne F.
Jasmyne F.
Feb. 7, 2013, 9:32 a.m.
I PAY BASIC BECAUSE I AM SELF EMPLOYED
Cancel
Gigi F.
Gigi F.
Feb. 6, 2013, 2:36 p.m.
I have used the free edition for my federal and paid for my state
Cancel
patty a.
patty a.
Feb. 6, 2013, 9:11 a.m.
I have for it just in case I have to go back and get things from previous years. It's all there for me.
Cancel
Influenster M.
Influenster M.
Feb. 5, 2013, 12:31 p.m.
I pay for the deluxe edition. I learned a few years ago that you can get a whole lot more back, so it's worth the $29.99
Cancel
Kristin Y.
Kristin Y.
Feb. 4, 2013, 2:26 p.m.
I used the free version for years. When my husband started being self employed and our taxes were a little more difficult we switched over to one that cost a little but was always well worth it. I love that it does the work for you for BOTH federal and state returns!
Cancel
Jane G.
Jane G.
Feb. 3, 2013, 5:09 p.m.
I end up paying for the state version, but I use the federal for free. TurboTax has been so great with getting me refunds for the past decade, that I don't mind a 29.99 charge.
Cancel
Alissa R.
Alissa R.
Feb. 2, 2013, 11:19 p.m.
I have always used the Free version!
Cancel

Join now to gain access to over a million product reviews, free full size samples, and the latest product news.

Join Now

Are you a Brand or Agency? Contact Us