Woah there, it looks like your browser is out of date.

To get the best experience, please update your browser.

Sony Johnny Cash ~ Greatest: The Number Ones (new)

Sony Johnny Cash ~ Greatest: The Number Ones (new)

BY SONY #20 in Music

4.9 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars92%
  • 4 Stars6%
  • 3 Stars1%
  • 2 Stars1%
  • 1 Star0%
4.90 / 5 based on 146 Reviews

Product Description

Liner Note Author: Anthony DeCurtis. Recording information: Folsom Prison (01/13/1968); Hendersonville (01/13/1968); Memphis (01/13/1968); Nashville (01/13/1968); San Quentin Prison (01/13/1968); Folsom Prison (02/24/1969); Hendersonville (02/24/1969); Memphis (02/24/1969); Nashville (02/24/1969); San Quentin Prison (02/24/1969); Folsom Prison (03/05/1976-07/06/1976); Hendersonville (03/05/1976-07/06/1976); Memphis (03/05/1976-07/06/1976); Nashville (03/05/1976-07/06/1976); San Quentin Prison (03/05/1976-07/06/1976); Folsom Prison (04/02/1956-07/10/1958); Hendersonville (04/02/1956-07/10/1958); Memphis (04/02/1956-07/10/1958); Nashville (04/02/1956-07/10/1958); San Quentin Prison (04/02/1956-07/10/1958); Folsom Prison (07/24/1958-10/03/1984); Hendersonville (07/24/1958-10/03/1984); Memphis (07/24/1958-10/03/1984); Nashville (07/24/1958-10/03/1984); San Quentin Prison (07/24/1958-10/03/1984).Photographers: Don Hunstein; Jim Marshall; Alan Messer. As part of Columbia/Legacy's ongoing celebration of Johnny Cash's 80th birthday in 2012, the label assembled a series of compilations under the rubric "The Greatest." This 19-track collection covers ground so obvious that it's a wonder there hasn't been a similar compilation before: it showcases Cash's chart-toppers. Strictly speaking, some of these singles did not reach number one - 1958's "The Ways of a Woman in Love" and 1979's "(Ghost) Riders in the Sky" peaked at two, while 1958's "What Do I Care" topped out at eight - and a good case could be made that "Get Rhythm," the charting flip of "I Walk the Line," should have been here, but that's ultimately nitpicking as this provides a single-disc overview of Cash's charting years unlike any other compilation on the market. Usually, Cash compilations concentrate on his enduring standards, which aren't necessarily the same thing as his biggest hits. This means that there are some very big songs missing here - "Hey Porter," "Cry Cry Cry," "I Still Miss Someone," "The Ba. see more...

Top Questions See all 10 Q&A

  • Was his last hit a cover by nine inch nails5 Answers
  • Anyone else fall into a burning ring of fire? 11 Answers
  • What is your favorite Johnny Cash song ?45 Answers
Sony Johnny Cash ~ Greatest: The Number Ones (new)
Sony Johnny Cash ~ Greatest: The Number Ones (new)
Reviews (146)
Q&A (10)
Buy on Target
Aliyah S.
4 reviews
Johnny Cash is one for only the wisest of music lovers. To listen to his voice is a virtue, you either love it or you don't. I find his voice timeless and his lyrics are inspiring! I would recommend listening to his albums and personally if you're looking for song to try out please try his cover of "Hurt"
Susan G.
Wyoming, MI
186 reviews
Johnny Cash was a amazing singer and his legacy lives on thru his music. I mean who could ever forget his Folsom Prison performance. It's one for the history books. He really had some struggles to overcome in his life but he did and I think those struggles are what fueled his creativity. Such a amazing singer.
Rachel M.
Memphis, TN
83 reviews
Badge Icon
Pop Culture Expert
Level 1
As the album title states, these are all number ones. What a better album to listen to for sing-a-long Cash tunes. If you are not familiar with Cash, this is a great introduction or if you're a die hard fan, all the greats are here in one place. His folky country Rock and Roll bad boy legacy will never die. Music lives on forever when it's great.
Stephanie R.
Ceres, CA
243 reviews
Badge Icon
Pop Culture Expert
Level 2
My husband was the one who introduced me to Johnny Cash and I am so thankful for that. His voice is so deep, raspy, a sense of telling a good story through his lyrics is one of my favorite things I've learned of Johnny Cash. My husband loves the karaoke Johnny Cash and he's really good at it I enjoy listening to his music.
Rebecca B.
Gibson, NC
439 reviews
Badge Icon
Pop Culture Expert
Level 2
Johnny cash aka the man in black is one of the greatest country musician's of all time and This 19-song overview of all of Johnny Cash's #1 hits is the most stellar collection of his most beloved work. From absolute classic "I Walk The Line," to "A Boy Named Sue," which made Cash a superstar, to the legendary live performance of "Folsom Prison Blues," the best work of Johnny Cash is represented here.
Cynthia H.
270 reviews
Badge Icon
Pop Culture Expert
Level 1
Oooh I love Johnny cash songs and love the movie also ! What a truly talented singer/musician . Him and his wife were cute together also this includes some songs same by the both of them . I recommend buying this album!
Nadine S.
Santa Maria , CA
292 reviews
Love Johnny Cash ! No one else has a voice like him so beautiful and demanding of your attention and yet so crisp at the same time ! Such an amazing voice ! And what an musician ! He created so much beautiful work !
Amber N.
Weatherford, TX
619 reviews
A true country legend, there is no other sound quite like the man in black. Each song tells a unique story as he strums it to the beat of guitars and southern twang. It'll leave you wanting to bust out the boots for a good two step.
Heather S.
Lancaster, OH
142 reviews
Johnny Cash told it like it is. He didn't mince words or soften his message. He was a true country star, the old kind that told of cheating hearts, drinking, fights, and prison. I love all of his work.
Adam K.
Fall Branch, TN
64 reviews
Incredible album showcasing the most beloved songs by the man in black. Sonically pleasing and a great album to introduce new fans to one of the most iconic artists of all time and some of the greatest Country and Rockabilly songs ever written!
Leslie R.
Golden, MS
1011 reviews
Badge Icon
Pop Culture Expert
Level 5
What is your favorite Johnny Cash song ?
Michelle F.
Whittier , CA
31 reviews
Badge Icon
Pop Culture Expert
Level 1
Who has seen the movie walk the line ? Did you like it ? Because I do.
Josh A.
43 reviews
Badge Icon
Pop Culture Expert
Level 2
What is your favorite nickname for Johnny Cash? Mine is "Johnny Cash Money"
Emily L.
New York, NY
42 reviews
Badge Icon
Pop Culture Expert
Level 2
What's your favorite more obscure Cash song (ones not on this album)?
Aoife C.
Tipperary
53 reviews
Anyone else fall into a burning ring of fire?

Join now to gain access to over 20 million product reviews, free full size samples, and the latest product news.

Get Started

Are you a Brand or Agency? Contact Us