Woah there, it looks like your browser is out of date.

To get the best experience, please update your browser.

by Hill's Pet Nutrition
Ask a Question
Deborah Ann N.
Deborah Ann N.
Cairo, GA

57 reviews

Does anyone know why they changed the formula?
Connie J.
Connie J.
Aug. 26, 2014, 8:08 p.m.
I didn't know that they had
Cancel
Autumn N.
Autumn N.
March 10, 2014, 8:20 p.m.
Idk but they did something right because my cat loves it.
Cancel
Kathleen H.
Kathleen H.
May 22, 2013, 8:18 p.m.
My vet recommended it
Cancel
Christina K.
Christina K.
May 4, 2013, 12:13 a.m.
They are slowly changing the formulas, so far I've seen them change the puppy food - it looks almost completely different (if you have ever seen their prescription food Dry i/d, thats what it looks like). They are making it without corn (but from what I can tell, they still have other grain products in it - and I think they still have corn as the #6 ingredient in the adult food)
Cancel
Sophia F.
Sophia F.
April 15, 2013, 9:59 a.m.
No idea
Cancel
Sophia F.
Sophia F.
April 15, 2013, 9:59 a.m.
No idea
Cancel
Keyona W.
Keyona W.
March 22, 2013, 10:46 a.m.
My hubs and I had no idea they changed anything until we went to Petsmart yesterday to go and buy more dog food. We just got a little bag to make sure our dog would be able to handle it in case it makes him sick or something.
Cancel
Katie V.
Katie V.
Feb. 7, 2013, 5:26 p.m.
They are suppose to be changing to make some of the foods more natural and healthy. Probably because they get so many complaints because of the cheap unhealthy ingredients they put in their food!
Cancel
Jennifer K.
Jennifer K.
Jan. 10, 2013, 6:49 p.m.
No idea, that was a bad move.
Cancel
Sarah B.
Sarah B.
Dec. 21, 2012, 10:30 a.m.
Probably price cuts.
Cancel
Megan M.
Megan M.
Dec. 10, 2012, 7:53 a.m.
Something to do with the amounts of corn and gluten in the original formula?
Cancel
Haydee R.
Haydee R.
Dec. 9, 2012, 3:44 p.m.
Customers demands for better quality
Cancel
Leigh-Anne H.
Leigh-Anne H.
Dec. 5, 2012, 4:16 p.m.
I know they've been planning to for about a year now. They've been slowly rehauling the company and changing their formulas for treats then wet now dry food. I think it's because more and more pet owners are looking for natural ingredients. It could also be a push from the government to all dog/cat food industries since in the past 5 years a lot of them have been pulling food from the shelves for contamination/mishandling/etc.
Cancel
patty a.
patty a.
Dec. 3, 2012, 6:12 p.m.
Good question...
Cancel
Marie P.
Marie P.
Dec. 2, 2012, 2:35 p.m.
I would write them an email or write to them on the Science Diet facebook page. You always get answers there, they don't want any negatives brewing up that way. If that doesn't work then I would call them.
Cancel
Elizabeth K.
Elizabeth K.
Dec. 1, 2012, 7:58 p.m.
No idea why.
Cancel
Gabby Y.
Gabby Y.
Dec. 1, 2012, 4:01 p.m.
Customer Complaints, change in flavor, cheaper supplies, and sometimes they find out new things medically about nutrients that might just be better for the dog.
Cancel
Morgan L.
Morgan L.
Nov. 29, 2012, 10:36 a.m.
They also do it because of customer complaints.
Cancel
Morgan L.
Morgan L.
Nov. 29, 2012, 10:35 a.m.
Sometimes they do it to change the flavor, save money, or if current ingredients are limited.
Cancel
Vanessa
Vanessa
Nov. 29, 2012, 10:03 a.m.
I have no idea. I have heard rumors that they might be using cheaper alternatives, but it's not certain. I sure hope not!
Cancel

Join now to gain access to over a million product reviews, free full size samples, and the latest product news.

Join Now

Are you a Brand or Agency? Contact Us