Woah there, it looks like your browser is out of date.

To get the best experience, please update your browser.

by Mastercard
  • 190 Reviews
  • 12 Q&A
Ask a Question
Hui-Yu Y.
Hui-Yu Y.
Bellevue, WA

204 reviews

I've never applied for a MasterCard, and to be honest, I don't know its advantage. Can someone tell us what's the difference between VISA and MasterCard? I thought they're quite similar.
Danielle S.
Danielle S.
Feb. 12, 2014, 10:31 p.m.
They are similar but offer different rewards program. Depending on your needs! The rewards are awesome as you get points for spending the money you normally do. Going through you bank is a great option as well.
Cancel
Sydney H.
Sydney H.
May 30, 2013, 6 p.m.
They are basically the same, the only difference is, is not all places accept Mastercard.
Cancel
Heather F.
Heather F.
April 9, 2013, 1:47 p.m.
If you have paypal, upgrade to a premier account and opt in for the business debit card. Little to no fees and you get 1% cash back!
Cancel
Nallely H.
Nallely H.
March 28, 2013, 10:01 a.m.
Yes very similar in my option having it as a debit card its better
Cancel
Kristina R.
Kristina R.
March 12, 2013, 10:08 p.m.
They are comparable with each other, you just need to research the kind of card you need. if you just need an emergency card, then it really doesn't matter, but if you want something with perks like travel points, just make sure that you research well before you apply.
Cancel
Marco A.
Marco A.
March 4, 2013, 7:35 p.m.
Differen companies, mostly the same benefits, the main difference is which bank or company is your credit card with. I use the US Airways mastercard that rather than points, gets me miles at a mile per dollar rate, that way I can use those miles for travel, other companies offer points or cash-back, so shop around and look for the one that better fits you
Cancel
Katrina O.
Katrina O.
Feb. 28, 2013, 9:50 p.m.
Visa highlights: Visa Signature cards offer some pretty awesome perks on top of your bank's rewards program. Take the Capital One Venture card for example. Deemed Money magazine's "Best Rewards Card if you aim to rack up airline miles," it has an impressive flat 2% rewards rate on all purchases. You receive a10,000-mile signing bonus, you never have to worry about blackout dates, and there are no limits or expiration dates on miles. The Venture's Visa Signature status piles on even more benefits. You are granted 24-hour complementary concierge service, lost luggage reimbursement, purchase security, travel and emergency assistance services, roadside dispatch and more. Another Visa favorite is the Chase Freedom. Though not actually a Visa Signature, it’s much more accessible than the Capital One Venture: it has no annual fee, but has a really great signup bonus of $200 cash back (2x the Venture) and gives a whopping 5% back on categories that change every three months. These can include gas, groceries, hotels and dining out. Plus, you earn 1% back on everything else and get access to the Chase Ultimate Rewards Mall, which earns significant bonuses on online shopping at stores ranging from Express to Ralph Lauren to Starbucks.com. MasterCard highlights: The Citi Simplicityis pretty much the best low APR/balance transfer offer out there: 18 months interest-free, with a low 3% balance transfer fee. It also has no annual fee, but what sets it apart is that it has neither a late fee nor a penalty APR, so you won’t see your interest rate jacked up to 30% if you miss a payment. It’s ideal for anyone who needs to make a big purchase and pay it off over time, or for anyone who’s already got some credit card debt.
Cancel
Allison M.
Allison M.
Feb. 25, 2013, 10:38 a.m.
Same thing just different companies ....each are both widely accepted. Each may have differ rates
Cancel
Zarnette S.
Zarnette S.
Feb. 21, 2013, 6:21 a.m.
I think they serve the same purpose. But I have a mastercard. I can use it as debit, credit, or to get cash out of the atm.
Cancel

Join now to gain access to over a million product reviews, free full size samples, and the latest product news.

Join Now

Are you a Brand or Agency? Contact Us